Summer Concert 2012

June 17, 2012

The Queen Victoria Hall

A packed QVH (over 90 in the audience) enjoyed afternoon tea, then a full programme including ‘By the Sleepy Lagoon’ , ‘Surprise Symphony’, ‘In the Hall of the Moutain King’ and ‘The Magnificent Seven’.

Ensemble items included the Accordion Tango from ‘Scent of a Woman’ – a perfect accompaniment to Al Pacino dancing on the big screen on the stage! Also the Cats Duet, two splendid vocal solos and a brass duet.

  • By the Sleepy Lagoon, Eric Coates
  • Surprise Symphony, Josef Hayden
  • A Foggy Day in London Town, Georg Gershwin
  • A Nightingale Sang in Berkley Square, Maschwitz & Sherwin
  • In the Hall of the Moutain King, Edvard Grieg
  • Manx Dances, Kenneth Platts
  • Larboard Watch, T.Williams
  • Tango from Por una Cabeza, Carlos Gardel
  • The Cat’s Chorus, Gioachino Rossini
  • Magnificent Seven, Elmer Bernstein